Flipora / Flip / Infoaxe SPAM

What is Flipora? And what is Infoaxe?

Have you received an email like this from something called Flip or Flipora or Infoaxe?

flipora spam

Flipora Spam

The message comes from info@fliporamail.com or info@info-emailer.com but is made to look like it is coming from a friend of yours. The subject of the message will either say “Reminder: *YOUR FRIEND’S NAME HERE* wants to follow you. Accept?” or it gives your friend’s name and then says “sent you a friend request on Flip :)”. The body of the message says:

Click here to discover *YOUR FRIEND’S NAME HERE* favorite websites!
*YOUR FRIEND’S NAME HERE* wants to follow you
Is *YOUR FRIEND’S NAME HERE* your friend?
Yes No
Following *YOUR FRIEND’S NAME HERE* helps you discover great websites they recommend :)
Click here to remove yourself from all such emails
440 N. Wolfe Rd MS# 153, Sunnyvale, CA. 94085

Or the email will say:

“If you can’t see this email please click here to respond
*YOUR FRIEND’S NAME HERE* has added you as a friend
Is *YOUR FRIEND’S NAME HERE* your friend?
Yes No
Click here to block all emails from Flip, 440 N. Wolfe Rd MS# 153, Sunnyvale, CA. 94085. Privacy Policy”

Although technically this isn’t exactly a virus or scam or information phishing scheme, it sure seems like one. Flip, Flipora, Filporamail and Infoaxe are all the same company. The service they apparently offer is to track your web browsing habits and suggest ads and search results and other websites based on what sites you visit. It is like voluntarily signing up to have spyware or malware on your computer. The worst thing about this “service” is that when you sign up you inadvertently give them access to your email address book and they use that information to send all of your friends, family and co-workers junk mail inviting them to also use Flip, Flipora, Fliporamail and Infoaxe. They may also sell your address book information to third party spammers or information brokers. There is no social media site called “Flip”. The bottom line: do not follow any of the links in the message. If you did click on the links then do not type in any of your information. If you did type in your information then you should change your email password right away.

The links in the email bring you to:





Don’t enter your information on any of these pages.

The IP addresses that they have been using for sending emails are in the 67.228.190.* range and the 74.86.42.* range. The three messages I received came from and and If your email service allows you to block spammers based on their IP address then you can use this information to block Flip from sending you messages.

***UPDATE***: In October 2012 the CEO of Flipora called me to complain about this very article that you are reading now. He claimed that their site does not sell anybody’s information and insisted that it’s not true that Flipora is a virus or a scam. He said that they only use your information for their own tracking purposes. During that phone call me also promised that Infoaxe was the company’s old name and that they don’t use it anymore but I checked their website that same day and the Infoaxe name was still on the front page of their site. In April 2013 I got another spam message from Flipora and infoaxe.com was the address to which all of the links in the message pointed. This sounds very suspicious for a “legitimate” company.

You can call Flipora to complain at 650-704-2449 or 310-617-3784.